Messenger Users can Now Wield Zuckerberg-Like Power to Unsend Communications

The newly released Facebook Messenger unsend feature gives regular users the ability to pull off what only the CEO could previously do…

Facebook faced a number of scandals through 2018. Amid the privacy and security concerns was a particularly odd bit of news. And, it came about in a strange way.

An otherwise innocuous story spun around one key detail — CEO Mark Zuckerberg’s messages expired after a pre-set amount of time. Of course, people took notice the head of the world’s largest social network could do what no one else could.

Now, nearly a year later, it’s finally making its way out to the general public, the company revealed in a blog post.

Facebook Messenger Unsend Option Finally Debuts

With the release comes the ability to delete from existence messages sent through Facebook Messenger — within 10 minutes, that is:

“Simply tap on the message you want to remove and select the option to ‘Remove for Everyone’. The removed message will be replaced by text alerting everyone in the conversation the message was removed. You will have up to 10 minutes to remove a message after it is sent.”

It joins “Remove for You,” another feature which allows users to delete their own messages on their end. (In other words, it still appears to recipients but not the sender.)

While it’s not exactly the same as the option Zuckerberg enjoys, the new Facebook Messenger unsend option is a welcome one. It’s now available on the latest versions of Android and iOS for download.

Savannah Marie

Savannah Marie loves writing and all things social media. She writes on a variety of topics, from social media to health and wellness to travel and all points in between! She is the lead writer and creator of Mixios and blogs with style and a one of a kind voice.