May 28, 2020
Facebook privacy data deletion settings

Facebook makes Its Privacy, Data, and Deletion Settings Easier to Find

Facebook privacy, data, and deletion settings are no longer scattered about the platform and now reside in a single, more accessible place…

Public backlash over recent scandals have the world’s largest social network scrambling to (re)gain trust among users. Today, the company announced it’s redesigned several of its data tools to better serve its 2+ billion users. Facebook is making it easier to find privacy, data, and deletion controls by placing them on a single page.

Facebook Privacy, Data, and Deletion Settings Now on a Single Page

However, it’s important to note, the changes don’t include anything new. Instead, they place existing options in one place. Additionally, what’s conspicuous by its absence in the announcement is the fact the platform doesn’t address any new practices for limiting what information it gathers about its users. In fact, Erin Egan, the chief privacy officer states, “These updates are about transparency — not about gaining new rights to collect, use, or share data.”

That’s certainly not reassuring but at least it lets users know where they stand.

In the past week, data downloads have spiked significantly as users attempt to learn what information social network holds about them. Here’s what Facebook says about the changes:

  • Make your account more secure: You can add more layers of protection to your account, like two-factor authentication. If you turn this on and someone tries to log into your account from a device we don’t recognize, you’ll be asked to confirm whether it was you.
  • Control your personal information: You can review what you’ve shared and delete it if you want to. This includes posts you’ve shared or reacted to, friend requests you’ve sent, and things you’ve searched for on Facebook.
  • Control the ads you see: You can manage the information we use to show you ads. Ad preferences explains how ads work and the options you have.
  • Manage who sees your posts and profile information: You own what you share on Facebook, and you can manage things like who sees your posts and the information you choose to include on your profile.