Xanjero

Facebook is Now Notifying its Users when There’s a Login to Third-Party Sites

Facebook Now Notifies Users of Third-Party Site Logins

Credit: Pexels

Facebook has introduced a new feature that sends its users notification alerts when there are logins to third-party sites…

It’s very difficult for consumers — if not nearly impossible — to remember all the sites they’ve accessed via their Facebook credentials. It’s become an all-too-common scenario, sites asking visitors to register and offers easy access via Facebook, Twitter, or Google accounts.

The world’s largest social network is aware of its login credential ubiquity and is now sending its users notifications when their FB credentials are used to access third-party sites.

Facebook Now Notifies Users of Third-Party Site Logins

Facebook is now alerting users to third-party logins, via their FB accounts and email, as well. It also shows the details shared with those third-party sites or applications, to offer more context.

The alerts will show up after the first initial login and then again when the credentials expire. So, Facebook won’t send notifications with every single access event.

Puxuan Qi writes on the Facebook Developer’s blog, the following:

Facebook is excited to announce the launch of a new Facebook Login feature, aimed at delivering users even more control over their information.

The feature, called ‘Login Notifications,’ alerts a user (via the Facebook app and user’s associated email) when they use Facebook Login to interact with 3rd party apps. The design and content of the Login Notifications remind users that they have full control over the information they share with 3rd party apps, with a clear path to edit those settings.”

Exit mobile version