July 31, 2021
FCC SHAKEN-STIR June 2021 directive

FCC to Mandate US Phone Carriers to Authenticate All Calls by June 2021

The United States Federal Communications Commission has announced it will require phone carriers to authenticate all calls…

Robocalls hit an all-time high last year, totaling 58.5 billion. This figure represents a 22 percent increase from the year prior in 2018, and a whopping 92 percent increase, compared to 2017.

Of those, 25.9 billion or 44 percent, were scams, while alerts and notifications accounted for 22 percent or 13 billion. Another 11.4 billion or 21 percent were financial reminders, and telemarketing accounted for 8 billion or 14 percent. Now, the FCC has taken another step to help lessen the nuisance.

FCC SHAKEN/STIR June 2021 Directive Announced

The agency released an order that mandates phone carriers to implement SHAKEN/STIR by June 30th, 2021. For those unfamiliar, SHAKEN/STIR is a protocol that stands for Signature-based Handling of Asserted Information Using toKENs (SHAKEN) and the Secure Telephone Identity Revisited (STIR) standards. 

Basically, this technology allows carriers to cross-reference calls to ensure they are originating from legitimate source numbers and not being spoofed. The FCC estimates that fraud call schemes cost American consumers about $10 billion annually. 

The official FCC announcement reads, in-part:

“The Order requires all originating and terminating voice service providers to implement STIR/SHAKEN in the Internet Protocol (IP) portions of their networks by June 30, 2021, a deadline that is consistent with Congress’s direction in the recently-enacted TRACED Act. The FCC laid the groundwork for these new rules when it formally proposed and sought public comment on mandating STIR/SHAKEN implementation in June 2019.”

Owen E. Richason IV

Covers social media, apps, search and like news. History buff, movie and theme park lover. Blessed dad and husband. Owen is also a musician and is the founder of Groove Modes.          

View all posts by Owen E. Richason IV →