July 29, 2021
Google 'Delete Last 15 Minutes' of Search History Debuts on iOS with Android Soon to Come

Google ‘Delete Last 15 Minutes’ of Search History Debuts on iOS with Android Soon to Come

Google promised more tools to control users’ search data and now, is rolling out a new option to delete the last 15 minutes of search history…

Google revealed at its 2021 I/O event that it would provide a new way to delete the last fifteen minutes of search history on Android and iOS. Now, the shortcut is starting to roll out on the Apple platform, with Android to follow. It’s beginning to appear in the mobile applications under the profile avatar. It joins other options, which include auto-delete controls that wipe out all queries every 3, 18, or 36 months.

Google ‘Delete Last 15 Minutes’ of Search History Debuts on iOS with Android Soon to Come

Google already offers an Incognito mode, but this is a bit different. For instance, Incognito doesn’t record users’ search information (though that data can still be captured by wireless carriers, WiFi providers, such as schools and workplaces). What’s more, Incognito requires proactive action on the part of the user in order to enable it. Conversely, the ‘Delete last 15 min’ button is an option people can use after a browsing session.

Google also has announced a new ability to lock the My Activity page behind extra sign-in verification with users’ credentials so that people of shared devices do not have wide latitude on each others’ personal information. 

Savannah Marie

Savannah Marie loves writing and all things social media. She writes on a variety of topics, from social media to health and wellness to travel and all points in between! She is the lead writer and creator of Mixios and blogs with style and a one of a kind voice.

View all posts by Savannah Marie →