September 22, 2021
Google Play Play Points program

Google Play Loyalty Points Program goes Live but Only in Japan

The new Google Play Play Points program, first uncovered earlier this month, is now live in Japan, with other markets likely to follow…

At the beginning of the month, we first learned about a new loyalty program for Google Play. Now, it’s available in Japan. The latest trend among app stores is to offer users beta access to test out mobile apps and games. This allows developers to more easily find bugs and quirks to refine performance.

Google Play Points goes Live in Japan

Users can join up by going into the “Play Points” section of the app, accessible through the hamburger menu. Much like other rewards programs, the more users engage the service, the higher level they achieve. It’s broken down into five tiers, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, and Diamond.

At this time, it’s unknown if the Google Play Points program will expand to other countries. But, it’s quite probable to roll out in the not-too-distant future. Here’s a look at the levels for the Japanese market:

  • Bronze level (up to 249 points):
    • 1 point earned for every ¥100 spent
  • Silver level (250–999 points):
    • 1.25 points earned for every ¥100 spent
    • 1 ¥300 credit for in-app items
    • 1 ¥100 movie rental
  • Gold level (1,000–3,999 points):
    • 1.5 points earned for every ¥100 spent
    • +1 ¥300 credit for in-app items
    • 2 ¥500 ebook credits
    • +2 ¥100 movie rentals
  • Platinum level (4,000–14,999 points):
    • 1.75 points earned for every ¥100 spent.
    • +1 ¥300 credit for in-app items
    • +4 ¥500 ebook credits
    • +4 ¥100 movie rentals
  • Diamond level (more than 15,000 points):
    • 2 points earned for every ¥100 spent
    • +2 ¥300 credits for in-app items
    • +6 ¥500 ebook credits
    • +5 ¥100 movie rentals

Barbara Davis

Barbara is a freelance writer, covering a variety of topics, including social media, search, and mobile apps.

View all posts by Barbara Davis →