Google Plus is now officially dead, with a long announcement greeting would-be posters about its end…
A security bug allowed third-party developers to gain free access to nearly half-a-million users’ Google+ profile information since 2015, The Wall Street Journal reported. Although Google discovered the problem in March 2018, it did not inform users of the breach until much later.
Hours later, users filed a lawsuit over the data breach.
Thereafter, the service suffered another data leak, which caused Google to move up the shuttering of Google Plus.
Google Plus goes Offline
There’s no question Google+ did not perform well among its incumbents. In fact, in January, the site went down for several hours and nobody really noticed.
Google stated it would pull the plug on the platform April 2nd, 2019. The Wayback Machine, which is maintained by the Internet Archive, even promised to back-up the site in March.
Until yesterday, Google+ was still up and running, lasting about two weeks later than scheduled. It was still possible to browse through the pages, posts, and groups.
Today, however, users are greeted with the following message:
“Google+ is no longer available for consumer (personal) and brand accounts
From all of us on the Google+ team, thank you for making Google+ such a special place.
What happened to Google+?
In December 2018, we announced our decision to shut down Google+ for consumers in April 2019.
Other Google products (such as Gmail, Google Photos, Google Drive, YouTube) were not shut down as part of the consumer Google+ shutdown and you can continue using those products. The Google Account you use to sign in to these services will remain. Note that photos and videos already backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.
What happened to my Google+ content?
We are in the process of deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts and Google+ pages. This process will take a few months to complete, and content may remain through this time. In the meantime, if you previously created content on Google+, you may be able to download and save your remaining Google+ content and delete your Google+ profile. You may also be able to view and delete your remaining Google+ activity.
If I also use Google+ with my G Suite account, for example at work or school, how will I be impacted?
Google+ for G Suite will continue as a way for people across an organization to have discussions. Learn more about how we’re continuing our investment in Google+ for G Suite.
If you’re not sure if your organization uses G Suite, you can check here. G Suite customers may see some changes to Google+ features related to the consumer Google+ shutdown. You can find more details here or you can talk to your G Suite administrator to learn more.
See the full FAQ for more details about the consumer Google+ shutdown.”