fbpx
October 28, 2020
Disney Plus allows streamers to disable autoplay previews and trailers

Because of Disney+, Netflix will Have to Rethink How this Super-Annoying “Feature” Works

Here’s one way Disney+ definitely beats out Netflix, hands-down, and it might cause the streaming service to rethink a particular “feature”…

There’s been a lot of talk about Disney+ being a potential Netflix killer. Early numbers seem to suggest it’s certainly possible. In the first 24 hours alone, Disney+ amassed more than 10 million subscriptions, claimed approximately 3.2 million mobile app downloads, and experienced over 2 million hours of streaming its series original, The Mandalorian.

All of this, despite the fact users encountered a number technical issues. New subscribers were unable to stream titles, some were couldn’t sign into their accounts, there were also problems with aspect ratios, as well as other issues. Disney worked frantically to resolve any technical glitches and overall, launch day was considered a success.

Bad News for Netflix: Disney Plus Allows Streamers to Disable Autoplay Previews and Trailers

Now, Disney is set to capitalize on its media empire in a way it couldn’t before. With its new streaming service already reaching 10 million+ subscribers on its first day, when analyst predicted 10 to 18 million in a year, Disney joins the streaming market with one feature that really does set it apart from Netflix — it allows viewers to disable autoplay previews and trailers.

Perhaps the most irritating “feature” of Netflix is the platform’s insistence to autoplay previews and trailers. It’s an inescapable part of the Netflix interface, leaving viewers powerless to turn it off. It’s so annoying, it is among the top complaints about the Netflix experience.

How to Disable Disney Plus Autoplay

To disable Disney Plus autoplay, just follow these simple steps:

how to disable Disney Plus autoplay
Credit: Disney / BGR
  1. Login to an active Disney+ account.
  2. Hover over the user avatar in the upper right corner.
  3. Go the the “Edit Profiles” page.
  4. Click on the user profile.
  5. Toggle off “Background Video.
  6. Click Save.

That’s it. (There’s one caveat, however. This only works for the selected profile and will not disable autoplay on other accounts. So, repeat the steps above for all profiles to turn off autoplay individually.)

Owen E. Richason IV

Covers social media, apps, search and like news. History buff, movie and theme park lover. Blessed dad and husband. Owen is also a musician and is the founder of Groove Modes.          

View all posts by Owen E. Richason IV →