April 8, 2021
Instagram save live video option

Instagram Save Live Video Option Announced

A new Instagram Save Live Video Option Announced comes to the Facebook owned social platform for users to retain lives-stream content for later viewing…

Instagram just launched a new live broadcast saving feature, allowing users to keep videos for future viewing. The company announces users now, “…have the option to save your live video to your phone at the end of a broadcast. While live videos will continue to disappear from the app when you’re done, this update gives you the flexibility to hold onto your video and re-watch it later, especially if something exciting happens during your broadcast that you want to remember or share.”

Instagram Save Live Video Option Rolls Out

Instagram explains the new option is easy to use. Simply tap “Save” and then “Done” in the upper right corner of the mobile app right after a live-stream video ends. Although the new Instagram save live video option does capture the content, it does not save the comments, likes, number of views, or any live interactions.

Instagram save live video screenshot
Credit: Instagram

The company says its excitement about the number of users who have streamed live video since the feature became available is a primary reason for the addition. Instagram also states this update is, “…just the first of many improvements we’ll be making to live videos this year.”

Saved videos are not immediately available within the mobile app. But, once saved to a device, videos are available in the camera roll, allowing users to re-post them to their profiles, when desired. This also makes it handy to share across other social profiles in different apps, without having to go through the Instagram native app.

To access the new Instagram save live video option, simply update to the latest mobile app version. It’s now available on Android and iOS, in version 10.12 in the Play Store and Apple App Store.

Earlier this month, Instagram Stories opened to all businesses. Previously, the feature was only available to a limited number of brand partners.

Thanks for taking a few moments of your time to read this; if you like this information, please share it with your friends!