Site icon Xanjero

Surprise! Microsoft Says its Windows Data Wiping Feature doesn’t Necessarily Erase Everything

Microsoft Windows' Remove Everything Data Wiping Tool can Leave Behind some Information

Microsoft Windows data wiping tool, Remove Everything, does leave information behind, according to the software giant’s Health dashboard…

Microsoft has a neat feature to reset Windows devices that’s appropriately called “Remove Everything.” But, it turns out the name is at least somewhat of a misnomer. This is due to the possibility using the tool can result in leaving some data behind. The software manufacturer recently disclosed the issue in its Windows Health dashboard, which MVP Rudy Ooms originally spotted.

Microsoft Windows’ Remove Everything Data Wiping Tool can Leave Behind some Information

The issue was first introduced following the October KB5006670 cumulative update for Windows 10 systems according to Microsoft. However, all Windows versions including Windows 10 20H2 up to 21H2 and even Windows 11 are impacted by the bug. Microsoft is currently working on a fix for the issue which it plans to address in an upcoming Windows update that will likely be pushed out sooner rather than later.

“When attempting to reset a Windows device with apps which have folders with reparse data, such as OneDrive or OneDrive for Business, files which have been downloaded or synced locally from OneDrive might not be deleted when selecting the ‘Remove everything’ option.”

Exit mobile version