August 1, 2021
Facebook snooze button

New Facebook Snooze Button Hides People, Pages, and Groups in the News Feed

Users can now opt to use a new Facebook Snooze button instead of unfollowing a friend, a Group, or Page for a temporary amount of time…

The world’s largest social network is apparently testing a new feature in users’ News Feeds. First spotted by TechCrunch, a new Facebook Snooze button resides on the desktop platform in a drop down menu.

Newly Launched Facebook Snooze Button an Alternative to Unfollowing, Unfriending

Although Facebook has yet to officially confirm the test and its reach, it seems a useful alternative to unfriending or unfollowing friends, Pages, and Groups. 

Facebook tried a similar feature before in 2012, when it offered a “See Less” option. However, that confused many users because it did not completely hide the selected friend. The social company dropped the “See Less” option in 2014, replacing it with the now familiar “Unfollow” option.

The new Snooze button is more robust. It gives users the power to temporarily unfollow friends, as well as Pages and Groups for 24 hours, 7 days, or 30 days.

To access the Facebook Snooze button, simply go to the desktop site. Click on the three dot horizontal menu at the top right of the post. Then, select “Unfollow or Snooze [name].” Thereafter, choose the amount of time to snooze that particular friend, Page, or Group.

This is probably good news for Pages and Groups in the long-term, especially ones that post a lot. With this intuitive and easy-to-use feature, people are less likely to unfollow them.

Facebook already moderates what users see in the News Feed, based on their clicks, comments, reactions, and shares. But this gives its human users more control of what they see.

Owen E. Richason IV

Covers social media, apps, search and like news. History buff, movie and theme park lover. Blessed dad and husband. Owen is also a musician and is the founder of Groove Modes.          

View all posts by Owen E. Richason IV →