October 23, 2021

Google Buzz Data Moving to Drive

Google Buzz Data Moving to Drive
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Mountain View, CaliforniaGoogle Buzz, the shuttered social service, which first debuted in early February of 2009, is now being completely discontinued. It was placed in a read-only status by the search engine in October of 2011 and then given only minimal support by December of the same year. The Google Buzz lifespan lasted just 32 months.

Buzz suffered the same fate as Google Wave, or Apache Wave, which was an online real-time collaboration platform, first announced in late May  of 2009 at the Google I/O conference. Like Wave, Google Buzz, wrapped many user features into its operating software, and was available in several languages.

Google Buzz Features

Essentially, Google Buzz was a multi-functioning site that help to integrate different services. It was not only a social network where people could share links, photos, and videos, but also a microblog. All of which was compatible with Gmail. And like Google Plus, users could choose what they posted to be publicly or only to be shared with family and friends, much like other social sites, such as Tumblr, which was just acquired by Yahoo, and Pinterest, which recently added new features.

Google Buzz was met with a bit of skepticism by industry analysts, seen as an attempt by the search engine to compete head-on with Facebook and Twitter–which have been locked in their own user based tug of war. Company executives said that the social media site would help to bridge the gap between work life and leisure. Privacy concerns were also seen as problematic, with such a fast roll-out.

The Google Buzz to Drive Migration

The social sites’ users data will be taken off of Google Buzz and placed into Drive. There will be two files, the first will be a read-only screen capture of a user’s data. This will only be viewable and accessible to the individual user. The second file will be made public, appearing in search and on Google+ with links being automatically redirected.

Comments are a bit different in that the individual user will have the ability to either keep private comments left on their profile private or make those comments public. The person who left the comment will not have control over the privacy settings.

Users can also go into their Google Buzz accounts and delete their profiles, which will preemptively stop any and all data from being moved over to Drive automatically when the migration occurs, starting on July 17 of this year. The search engine also recently integrated Google Plus comments into Blogger.

Enhanced by Zemanta